Connect and Refer to Programs

Overview

Referrals connect a person in need to the program that can serve them. Through referral dashboards and email notifications, the status of the referral can be shared with the person being referred (Seeker), the person who made the referral (Navigator), and the program so that all parties involved know what happened with the referral, and follow up as needed.

Users may also connect directly to programs without the help of others.

Table of Contents

 

How it Works

Live Referrals

When you identify a Program that you think can help, you can the Connect button on the Program card to refer yourself or someone else directly to that Program.

When the Connect Button says Apply, Schedule, Contact, or Refer, this will allow the user to make a referral through the platform:

  1. Click the Connect button reading Apply, Schedule, Contact, or Refer
  2. Fill out the contact information of the person needing services (Seeker)
  3. If you are helping someone else (Navigator), fill out your information 
  4. Indicate the best way to reach the Seeker
    • NOTE: Currently messages from the platform to T-Mobile/Sprint customers are being blocked by the carrier. We are actively working with them to resolve this issue.
  5. Add comments that you want to share with the Seeker and the Program about the referral
    • Comments can be used when additional information about the person seeking services would be helpful for the Program to know, or if someone other than the Seeker should be contacted for follow up care.
  6. Click Send or Next. If the Program has added a Screener to their referral, fill out the Screener and click submit.

 

35022e66-b2ea-47ad-bd31-65307adabe29.png

Once the referral has been submitted:

Users can update the status of referrals through email notifications or their respective dashboards. Regardless of who updates the status, the updated status will be reflected in real-time in each respective dashboard.

152ed9fe-b95b-4a4e-aebf-d4a3601a1d65.png

For other external Connect buttons, the Navigator can still log the referral by clicking the Connect button followed by Log a Referral in the opened section.

When logging a referral, nothing will be sent to the Program, but the referral information will be sent to the Seeker. Additionally both the Seeker and the Navigator will be able to view the referral in their respective referral dashboard.

*In cases where Seekers choose Don’t reach out, no referral notifications will be sent. The referral will still show in all referral dashboards, but the Program's Inbound Referrals Dashboard will not include the Seeker's contact information, instead saying that the Seeker will reach out to the Program directly.

Screen_Shot_2021-10-20_at_10.27.41_AM.png

Use Contact Info on File

If you have made referrals for someone in the past, you can use the “Use Contact Info on file” box to pull the Seeker’s contact information into the referral form. It will use the information that is currently reflected in the Seeker Profile.

Screen_Shot_2021-10-20_at_10.28.50_AM.png

Lookup is currently limited to the 300 most recently updated Seeker Profiles you have access to. You may have access to the profile either through your own actions or through your Team Navigation role.

 

Who can see Referral Comments?

If you have additional information to share when making a referral, you can add comments to referrals that are visible to both the Seeker and the Program:

  • Seeker - in their notification email and Referrals for Me Dashboard 

  • Navigator - in the Seeker Profile

  • Program - in their email notification and in their Inbound Referral Dashboard

 

Log a Referral

Sometimes Programs prefer to be contacted outside of findhelp, such as by calling or through an existing application or contact form.

When the connect button says, See Next Steps or links to an external application, scheduler, or contact form, Navigators can Log a Referral.

To do this:

  1. Click the Connect button reading See Next Steps, Apply on their Site, Contact on their Site, or Schedule on their Site
  2. Fill out the contact information of the Seeker
  3. As a Navigator, fill out your contact information 
  4. Indicate the best way to reach the Seeker
  5. Add comments that you want to share with the Seeker
    • When logging a referral, the Seeker will need to follow up directly with the program. You can use the comments to remind them to, "Follow the next steps in this email to contact the program".
  6. Click Save.

This will track the referral for the Navigator and the Seeker, but nothing will be sent to the Program as they prefer other ways of being contacted.

28978f01-b883-475e-bfe2-a33760c8956d.png

Once the referral has been saved:

Because no referral information is sent to the Program, consent will not be captured with logged referrals.

 

Tracking-Only

Some Customer Sites may want to track referrals, but not send information to the Program or the Seeker. Instead of “live referrals”, Customers can opt to use “tracking-only” referrals. When tracking-only is configured, Connect, Refer, and Apply buttons will instead say Log Referral. When referrals are logged on tracking-only sites: 

  • Seekers will receive no notification about the referral
  • Navigators will be able to view the referral in the People I'm Helping dashboard.
  • Programs will have no record of the referral

Statuses

The following statuses are available and visible across respective referral dashboards:

  • Not updated

  • Needs client action

  • Pending

  • Referred elsewhere

  • Eligible

  • Got help

  • Couldn’t get help

  • Couldn’t contact

  • Not eligible

  • No capacity

  • No longer interested

Learn about what each of the referral statuses means

Who can see submitted Referrals?

Self-Referrals

When you make a referral for yourself, you can see it when you log into your account. If the Program is accepting referrals through the platform, the Program will see it as well.

Live Referrals made with Refer/Contact or Apply

 

Dashboard

Email

Text

Seeker

Referrals for Me

If the Seeker chose “email” as the best way to reach them

If the Seeker chose “text” as the best way to reach them

Navigator

-

-

-

Program

Inbound Referrals

Email(s) listed on the Contact Settings

-

 

Logged Referrals for See Next Steps and external Connect buttons such as Apply on their Site, Contact on their Site, or Schedule on their Site

Seekers are unlikely to log a referral as no information goes to the Program. Instead they’ll likely follow the next steps or connect directly through the Program's external form. If they were to log a referral, they would see it in their Referrals for Me Dashboard.

 

Dashboard

Email

Text

Seeker

Referrals for Me

If the Seeker chose “email” as the best way to reach them

If the Seeker chose “text” as the best way to reach them

 

Referrals for Someone Else

Live Referrals made with Refer/Contact or Apply

Party

Dashboard

Email

Text

Seeker

Referrals for Me

If the Seeker chose “email” as the best way to reach them

If the Seeker chose “text” as the best way to reach them

Navigator

People I’m Helping

-

-

Program

Inbound Referrals

Email(s) listed on the Contact Settings

-

 

Logged Referrals for See Next Steps and external Connect buttons such as Apply on their Site, Contact on their Site, or Schedule on their Site

 

Dashboard

Email

Text

Seeker

Referrals for Me

If the Seeker chose “email” as the best way to reach them

If the Seeker chose “text” as the best way to reach them

Navigator

People I’m Helping

-

-

Program

-

-

-

 

Tracking-Only Referrals

 

Dashboard

Email

Text

Seeker

Referrals for Me (though they will receive no notification that it’s here)

-

-

Navigator

People I’m Helping

-

-

Program

-

-

-

Was this article helpful?
4 out of 7 found this helpful