The Connect button tells you how to best connect with a Program. This may be by going in person, scheduling an appointment, contacting through the site, or filling out a Screener. The Connect button on each Program will reflect the Program’s contact method and help you start the process of reaching out for services. The Connect button may also be used to make and track referrals.
Table of Contents
How it Works
The Connect button is on every Program listing on the platform and on customer sites that have live referrals enabled. The Connect button tells you the best way to contact the Program and may also be used to make and track referrals.
Some sites may turn off the Connect button if they do not want information sent to the Program or Seeker through the platform.
By default some Connect buttons send referral notifications and information to the Program and Seeker. Some Customer Sites may want to track referrals internally, but not send referral information to the Program or Seeker.
When tracking-only is configured, all the referrals will be logged in the People I’m Helping Dashboard for the person who logged the referral and their groups. No outbound communication will be sent to either the Seeker or the Program, nor will referral information appear in their respective dashboards.
Updating the Connect Button
Connect Buttons Options
|This Apply icon will appear if a Screener is enabled on the Program. Users connecting to this Program will fill out the Connect Form and then fill out the Screener to complete the referral.|
|This External Apply icon will appear if the best way to connect with a Program is through an external application, typically hosted on their website.|
|This External Contact icon will appear if the best way to reach the Program is through a contact form on their external website.|
This Contact* or Refer* icon will appear if the best way to reach the Program is though a referral made through the platform.
This is the same setting, however the language on the button changes based on the type of user.
Non-logged in users and some logged in users will see “Contact Here” as they are more likely to “Contact” an organization, while logged in users who typically help others will see “Refer” because as a helping professional, they are more likely to “Refer” someone to a Program.
Depending on the screen size, users may see "Contact" instead.
Learn more about findhelp referrals here.
|This Schedule* button will appear if the best way to connect with a Program is to schedule an appointment either through the findhelp Scheduler, or through the Program’s own scheduling functionality.|
|This See Next Steps button appears if none of the other options are true. This typically appears when the best way to reach a Program is to call, email, or go in person.|
|*When “Tracking-Only referrals are enabled, “Log Referral” will replace the starred, “Contact,” '' Refer,” “Schedule,”and “Apply” buttons.|