How do I add or update a single user on my site?

Tier: Basic, Professional, Enterprise

Overview

All users can create an account on any findhelp site. However, your organization can authorize users on your site to have additional functionality and report access. Site Administrators and Group Managers can use the User and Group Management tool to add new user accounts and manage user permissions.

How Do I Add a Single User on My Site?

To add a user to your site, you must haveSite Administrator or Group Manager privileges.  

To add multiple users to your site, access the How do I add multiple users to my site article.

1. Click on the Site Tools menu and select Site Tools from the drop-down menu.

Site_Tools_Menu_site_admin.png

2. From the Site Tools page, click Manage Users and Groups.

Site_Tools_gif.gif

Once in the User and Group Management Tool, you will be taken directly to the Manage Users page. 

3. Select the plus sign on the right of the Manage Users page to open the Add New User form. Fill out the contact information of the user (First Name, Last Name, and Email Address are required fields).

Add_User_Plus_Sign.png

Add_User_Acct_info.png

4. (Optional) In the Groups section, click the Edit User’s Groups button to add the user to one or more groups.

Add_User_groups.png

Learn more about adding users to groups here: How Do I Add Users to a Group?

5. (Optional) In the Details section, enter the user’s Title and Department. This information can be used for documentation and reporting purposes.

Add_User_details.png

6. Click Save to complete creation of the user account. 

  • Users that already have an account on your site with the email address you entered, they will have access to any groups they have been added to the next time they log in. 
  • If the user is a brand new user, they will receive an email with a link to verify their account and set their password. 

Note

The link in the email expires after 24 hours and cannot be resent. If the user does not create their account within the 24 hours, direct the user to follow the password reset workflow.

User Status

On the manage users page, you can view the status of each user: 

User_List_various_status.png

  • Active users are live provisioned users for the site.
  • Pending means that the user’s account access is pending approval. The pended user will have access once they approve their account via the email link or by resetting their password.
  • Inactive means the Site Administrator has revoked the user’s provisioned status and removed them from groups. An inactive user can still log into their findhelp account and access their activities.
  • The Lockicon indicates that the Site Administrator has chosen to “lock” the user’s account, which prohibits the user from logging in.

How Do I Update a Single User on My Site?

To update or make changes to a user account, you must have Site Administrator privileges.

To make changes to a user account on your site, access the User and Group Management Tool:

1. Click on the Site Tools menu and select Site Tools from the drop-down menu.

Site_Tools_Menu_site_admin.png

2. From the Site Tools page, click Manage Users and Groups.

Site_Tools_gif.gif

Once in the User and Group Management Tool, you will be taken directly to the Manage Users page. 

3. Select the user you wish to edit by clicking on their name in the list of users.

Tip

To quickly find a specific user, click the magnifying glass icon on the right side of the Manage Users page to search for a user by name or email address.

Click_on_User_s_Name.png

4. Click the Pencil icon in the user preview to edit the selected user. You may need to scroll up. This opens the Edit User page.

Edit_User_Pencil_Icon.png

5. From here, you can edit the user’s name, phone number, groups, or details

Important

Email address need to be updated on the backend of the site. If you need to update an email address, please contact your Customer Success Manager or email Support at support@findhelp.com.

User_Profile_Details.png

6. Once you’ve completed editing the user, click Save.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful